Benton supervisors hold first meeting of the new year

By Jim Magdefrau

VINTON – It was the first meeting of the new calendar year for the Benton County Board of Supervisors, in the conference room of the Benton County Service Center, Vinton, on Monday, Jan. 3, 2022.

The first reading of an ordinance was approved regarding a recommendation from the redistricting committee on new supervisor districts. Supervisor Richard Primmer said he asked for legal advice about the district numbers. Benton County Attorney David Thompson explained that due to the district changes, Primmer will become the District I supervisors. He currently represents the second district. Tracy Seeman, who is now the second district supervisor, will be in the first district, and is up for election this fall. 

After the three readings are approved, Primmer and Seeman will flip-flop their district numbers. This is to be certified by Jan. 15. A public hearing was held on this at the close of the meeting. Thompson pointed that a township can not be divided to balance the population in a supervisor district, in case anyone complains that the first district might appear to be too urban.

The second reading was planned on Tuesday, Jan. 4. The third reading is Wednesday, Jan. 5. 

Other action

The board chose Tracy Seeman to serve again as chairman. Gary Bierschenk will continue as vice chairman. This will be the second year for Seeman and Bierschenk.

The board designated supervisors and alternates to county and regional boards. They will keep their current assignments.

The schedule for supervisors meetings will continue to be 9 a.m. on Tuesday mornings. 

The Cedar Valley Times and Vinton Eagle were chosen as official newspapers for Benton County, as well as the Cedar Rapids Gazette. The Star Press Union was not chosen. This is for 2022. 

The board signed a new statement of non-issuance of certificate of occupancy for 2022.

The board authorized the auditor to issue warrants per Iowa Code 331.506 and execute ACH and financial agreements for 2021.

The board authorized the treasurer to execute ACH agreements for 2022.

Appointments were also considered for eminent domain, health board, conservation board, Benton Development Group, Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management Committee, benefitted fire districts, Heartland Insurance Risk Group, historic preservation commission, East Central Iowa Council of Governments ECICOG, and land use adjustment board. Appointments were also made to various ECICOG regional committees.

Thompson stressed the need for gender balance on various boards.

Jerry Michael was appointed as civil rights coordinator. Myron Parizek was appointed as county engineer. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.