Bobcats defeat Central DeWitt, gets ready for 3A playoffs

Friday, Oct. 22, 2021

CD  0 7 0 15 – 22
BC 12 7 7  7 – 33

Benton Community closed Class 3A district play with an unbeaten district record and a first-place title with the defeat of Central DeWitt (5-4), Friday, Oct. 22, in Van Horne.

Colin Buch was 5 of 10 in passing for 52 yards. The Bobcats rushed for 242 yards. Jacob Brecht carried 16 times for 103 yards. Buch carried eight times for 94 yards and three touchdowns, the longest being 35 yards. Aiden Harris caught two passes for 27 yards. Sam Wallace had one catch for 22 yards. Mason Dellamuth had 9.0 total tackles. Kyler Mahan added 6.0 tackles. Dellamuth had eight solo tackles. Recovering one fumble each were Brecht and Ryan Tjelmeland. Isaac Cretin had one interception for seven yards. Tjelmeland had one kickoff return for 16 yards. Bjorn Sunesen had six kickoffs for 252 yards and one touchback. Nathan Rottman was 3 of 4 for extra point kicks. Rottman had two punts for 58 yards.

Central had 146 yards passing and 83 yards rushing.

Coach Jeff Zittergruen said, “As coaches, we can not be more proud of this group of young men for finishing out the regular season with an undefeated district record and as Class 3A District 4 Champions. This group has been determined for the better part of a year to make sure they were doing everything they could to have a successful season this fall. We are so happy for them that they are reaping the rewards from that hard work. We are excited to be able to start the postseason this upcoming Friday with a home game at Bobcat Stadium against a good Independence team.”

Benton will host Independence Friday, Oct. 29, as Class 3A playoff action begins.

First Round Assignments


POD #1

Sioux Center (5-4) at Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley (9-0)
Algona (5-4) at Sergeant Bluff-Luton (7-2)

POD #2

Hampton-Dumont/CAL (5-4) at Humboldt (9-0)
Independence (8-1) at Benton Community (8-1)

POD #3

Ballard (5-4) at Harlan Community (9-0)
ADM, Adel (7-2) at Nevada (8-1)

POD #4

Grinnell (6-3) at West Delaware (8-1)
Assumption, Davenport (6-3) at Solon (9-0)


1 Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley
2 Humboldt
3 Harlan Community
4 West Delaware
5 Solon
6 Nevada
7 Sergeant Bluff-Luton
8 Independence
9 Benton Community
10 ADM, Adel
11 Assumption, Davenport
12 Grinnell
13 Algona
14 Sioux Center
15 Hampton-Dumont/CAL
16 Ballard

First Round: Friday, October 29

Start time: 7 p.m.

Tickets: $8 | Buy IHSAA Tickets

Semifinal pod to be reseeded by final regular season RPI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.