2022 IPSWA/IFCA All-State Football

DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association and the Iowa Football Coaches Association have announced their 2022 all-state football teams.

Dozens of sports writers and coaches from across the state met either in-person at Dowling Catholic High School or over Zoom to select this year’s teams.

Team captains were selected in each of the seven Iowa high school football classes. Captains must be a senior and selected to the first all-state team and are voted on by sports writers in each class.

The captains in each class were Cael Ortmann of Remsen St. Mary’s (8-man); Patrick Brown III of Grundy Center (Class A); Nolan Delong of Durant (Class 1A); Zach Lutmer of CLGLR (Class 2A); Aidan Hall of Harlan (Class 3A); Braylon Kammrad of Lewis Center (Class 4A); and Abu Sama of Southeast Polk (Class 5A).

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports.

Benton Defensive Lineman Brennen Blegen received second-team honors in Class 3A. He is a junior.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.