Goodchild inducted into Iowa Football Coaches Hall of Fame

The Iowa Football Coaches Association is honored to submit new members to its Hall of Fame each season.

Hall of Fame winners for 2022 were announced at the the clinic held Saturday, March 4, 2023, at Prairie Meadows, Altoona.

The IFCA Hall of Fame honor is one of the highest recognitions that a coach can receive. It honors those coaches who have excelled both on and off the field. Coaches who have impacted players, schools, communities, and the game of football in Iowa.

Hired by Hall of Fame coach Reese Morgan at Benton Community in 1989, Goodchild has served as head coach for 25 seasons over three stints. His overall record of 162-75 came with most games in Class 3A and included 13 playoff appearances and eight district championships. He also served as head coach of YJB and Panora-Linden for three seasons. Goodchild’s most recent run at Benton came following three wins in three seasons, which his squads followed up with first or second-place district finishes in 10 of the next 11 years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.