The Longest Year –1864-1865

Coming to the EV History Center…

Iowa and the Civil War is a trilogy written by Ken Lyftogt. Each of the three volumes has been a finalist for the B.F. Shambaugh Award, the highest honor offered by the State Historical Society of Iowa, with Volumes I and II receiving second place honors. The final result for 2023 will not be announced until June 15 when the awards are presented.

Shortly after that announcement, on Sunday, June 25, at 2:00 p.m., Ken Lyftogt will be coming to the EV History Center to discuss this final volume and his entire trilogy that offers readers many details and insights into the state of Iowa’s involvement in this great conflict to save the Union.

After receiving his B.A. and M.A. degrees at the University of Northern Iowa, Kenneth Lyftogt taught history at UNI for many years. During that time, he also extensively traveled and researched Iowa’s role in the American Civil War. He has served as an author and lecturer with the Iowa Humanities Board for over ten years.

In reviewing Volume III of the trilogy, Historian Andrew J. Wagenhoffer writes, “Lyftogt highlights the roles of Iowa leaders and units in the campaigns … He achieves this by way of a comprehensive war narrative consistently reinforced with quoted passages drawn from firsthand writings of Iowa officers and men of all ranks.”

The English Valleys History Center is located at 108 N. Main Street in North English, Iowa, and all are invited to attend this event at no charge. Donations are accepted.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.